Sualkuchi Adhiveshan

HomeSualkuchi Adhiveshan

Sualkuchi Adhiveshan

The 75th Biennial Session of Asam Sahitya Sabha was held at Sualkuchi—the textile township known as the ‘Manchester of the North-East’ which is situated at a distance of 25 kms from Guwahati. Over 2 (two) million people attended the Session. About 3,000 delegates from the North-East and over 100 cultural and literary luminaries from across the country participated in this huge literary meet.

On the second day of the session, i.e., on February 2, the first open conference took place with Asam Sahitya Sabha’s new president, Dr Kuladhar Saikia, presiding over it. Before the conference, Dr Saikia was ceremonially escorted to the dais by a huge cultural procession comprising over 600 cultural troupes belonging to various ethno-linguistic communities from all over the state. Distinguished Bengali writer and former professor of Vishwabharati Santinikaten, Dr Ram Kumar Mukhopadhyay inaugurated the conference as the chief guest.

The second open conference was held on February 3 with Asam Sahitya Sabha president, Dr Kuladhar Saikia in the chair. Hon’ble Governor of Assam, Prof Jagdish Mukhi was present on the occasion as the chief guest. The highlight of the programme was presentation of Dr Indira Goswami (Mamoni Roysom Goswami) National Literature Award, 2019, to noted Sahitya Akademi Award-winning Marathi writer Shri Vishwas Patil. This prestigious biennial award of Asam Sahitya Sabha is sponsored by Numaligarh Refinery Limited (NRL) and it comprises a cash purse of Rs 3.00 lakh. Shri S K Barua, managing director, NRL, was also present on the occasion as the guest of honour.

The programmes of the four-day session were held in five stages covering an area of 150 acres of land along the bank of river mighty Brahmaputra.

Significant events:

  • 1) Poetry session(s)
  • 2) Young Talents’ Session (‘Ramdhenu’)
  • 3) Dramatists’ Session
  • 4) Short Story Writers’ Session
  • 5) Satire Writers’ Session
  • 6) Science Fiction Writers’ Session
  • 7) Journalists’ Session
  • 8) Children’s Session (‘Kuhi’)
  • 9) Translators’ session
  • 10) Women Talent’s Session (‘Akash’)
  • 11) Tribal Writers' and Tribal Students’ & Youth Bodies’ session
  • 12) Tribal Literature Organisations’ session
  • 13) Environment, Nature and Wildlife Activists’ Session